sauces, seasonings, and songstresses

26Mar10

My longtime buddy and One Helluva Guy Aaron comes into town tonight for a few days of cooking and reconnecting with old LA buddies. I will probably be off the blogwaves for the weekend while we busy ourselves with sauces and seasonings, but I will be back on Monday with a bundle of scrumptious photos and recipes.

Aaron, Mount Wilson, 2006.

And, a little weekend send-off… Aaron and I are big fans of harpist and singer Joanna Newsom. Her voice is very particular, making her not everyone’s cup of tea, but to us and a core of adoring listeners, she is an exquisite musician and brilliant lyricist. Upon first listening to her song “Emily” off of Ys, I heard the lyrics as “What the media writes is only the source of the lies/And what the media writes is just what you see.” I was surprised to hear such pedantic verse from the typically more nuanced, gentle singer, until Aaron corrected me in a fit of laughter (I am known for my complete inability to ever get song lyrics right). The song actually goes: “Though all I knew of the rote universe were those Pleiades loosed in December/I promised you I’d set them to verse so I’d always remember/That the meteorite is a source of the light/And the meteor’s just what we see/And the meteoroid is a stone that’s devoid/of the fire that propelled it to thee.” Lovely.

Joanna released a third album last month, an epic tale on three discs. I’ve had “Good Intentions Paving Company” on repeat at home and in my head at work. It feels like a real summery chunk of Americana to me, like it should be playing at a 4th of July family picnic, and is one of the most accessible songs on the album for those who have had trouble with her before.

(Also, gawwwsh, ain’t she cute?)

Happy Friday to all!

One Response to “sauces, seasonings, and songstresses”

  1. 1 Nedjelko

    Once Joanna Newsom played a show at Bennington. I went into her dressing room during the show because my ears were bleeding. She had left her cell phone on a table. I picked it up, called my ex-boyfriend (I was then without a phone) and then I called Devendra Banhart.


Leave a Reply

