boomerang

25Mar10

What was once lost is now found. A few days ago I posted about a book I loved in childhood that I have never been able to relocate. The Internets must be listening because a search the next day brought me right to the book. I thought it was called The Lupine Lady but it turns out it is Miss Rumphius, written and beautifully illustrated by Barbara Cooney. I think she looks like a nice lady and I’m a big fan of her hairstyle.

Me in 50 years?

Miss Rumphius and her lupins

Another beautiful Barbara Cooney illustration

The Lupine Lady lives in a tiny house!

.

It’s been too long for me to completely recall the the story, but I remember it has something to do with a woman who beautifies her community by spreading lupin seeds wherever she goes. Maybe I’ll be able to find my copy next time I visit home. I did find this excerpt from another reader’s blog:

In the evening Alice sat on her grandfather’s knee and listened to his stories of faraway places. When he finished, Alice would say, “When I grow up, I too will go to faraway places, and when I grow old, I too will live beside the sea.”

“That is all very well, little Alice,” said her grandfather, “but there is a third thing you must do.”

“What is that?” asked Alice.

“You must do something to make the world more beautiful,” said her grandfather.

“All right,” said Alice. But she did not know what that could be. In the meantime Alice got up and washed her face and ate her porridge for breakfast. She went to school and came home and did her homework. And pretty soon she was grown up.

Ain’t that the truth.

On top of this great find, I’ve also located the farmer’s market band I posted about recently. I must have only heard them play an out-of-character song, because it turns out they are less Mills Brothers/”steamboat music” and more like Eastern European gypsy music (they remind me of Gogol Bordello a bit). They are called the Petrojvic Blasting Company, and are a gang of brothers and friends from Tennessee with made-up names and histories. I think I am in love. Here is a link to their website, and a video featuring two of the band members:

2 Responses to “boomerang”

  1. Those illustrations definitely helped shape your imagination as a child – it reminds me of the inside of your brain. I feel like your imaginary sanctuary is that house on the cliff. Also kind of reminds me of sonoma, rr just reminds me of you.

  2. I agree with Arabian, the illustrations are definitely mind molding.

    Maybe those Serbian Tennesseans should stick with Mills Brothers type tunes…at least they’re cute! ha!


Leave a Reply

