zupa kalafiorowa

24Mar10

I have never been a fan of apartments, so I feel very fortunate that the studio I live in is its own freestanding unit with no shared walls. It was actually once the garage to the main house, which is located down a set of stairs at the bottom of the hill, inhabited by a very sweet Polish lady named Danuta. Danuta’s English is not always perfect, so she uses multiple animated emoticons to express herself in emails. Today I got four green winky faces and a row of bouncing red flowers (along with a request to “please your computer info bring to me when you will be home today, I need to fixed internets”).

As the warmer months roll in, one thing I will be sad to say good-bye to is soup-making. My apartment has no oven, so I spent this last winter learning to make a variety of delicious soups, a perfect, low-maintenance dish for a stovetop. There is no better way to heat up a chilly home than with a pot of hot soup, stewing for hours until the smells rise to the rafters.

Zupa Kalafiorowa

My favorite of the bunch is a Polish cream of cauliflower soup (I wonder what Danuta would think!). It is so easy to make, with a flavor that is both delicate and expansive. I adapted this recipe from Mark Bittman’s column in the New York Times (I adore this man). I’m sure there are a few rainy days left in the season suitable to try this out.

Ingredients
  • 1 quart chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 1 potato, cubed
  • 1 cup carrots, sliced
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 teaspoon fresh dill
Method
Simmer vegetables in the chicken stock for 20 to 30 minutes. Combine the cream, flour and egg yolk with a whisk. Add 1 cup chicken stock to the cream mixture, then gradually pour the cream mixture into the remaining stock, stirring constantly. Simmer for 10 to 15 minutes. Do not boil. Garnish with dill.

In other food-related news, I love the name of this Chinese restaurant.

At least it's not "So-So Chinese Food"

There is a Dim Sum restaurant in Chinatown that takes its “B” health grade and uses lettering to turn it into “‘B’est Chinese Food!” The marketing directors of OK Chinese Food need to get on the horn with those guys. Genius.

One Response to “zupa kalafiorowa”

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHA! Can you hear me laughing at your blog?

    “B’est Chinese Food?!” amazing! “At least it’s no So-So Chinese Food” = brilliant. There was a pizza joint in Tallahassee called “Decent Pizza.” Quite apt on their part.

    Toaster ovens these days make fine oven replacements. You can even cook a medium pizza in some of them. It could be a good investment for chef Jess!


Leave a Reply

